Google Analytics

Friday, February 10, 2017

Two-Time Runner-Up Wins 2017 MISD District Spelling Bee

And then there were two.

Out of the original batch of 35 spelling bee contestants who made it to the district competition by being the winners at their campus bee, only two girls were left in round 10.

Ruth Oyerokun from Linda Jobe Middle School and Tojumi Olayiwole from Mary Orr Intermediate School battled it out for almost an hour on Feb. 10 to see who would be named the Mansfield ISD spelling champion.

Androcentric. Lithe. Folksiness. Polymer. Each word was spelled effortlessly—until the word to spell was hogan.

Olayiwole misspelled it, which gave Oyerokun the opportunity to correctly spell the next two words. T-r-a-w-l became her trophy-winning letters.

“I’m very happy,” said the seventh-grader. “This is my fourth spelling bee. I was runner-up in fourth and fifth grade.”

Olayiwole (left) and Oyerokun (right) were competitors and friends.
Winning was a little bitter-sweet for Oyerokun because the runner-up is her friend, but she said it felt satisfying to win after years of qualifying and preparing for the district bee.

“It feels good to finally not be behind someone,” she said. “I’ve been studying for the past two months for 30 minutes a day. My family has been very supportive and told me to learn from my past mistakes.”

The annual MISD Spelling Bee fosters public speaking skills, enhances vocabulary skills and builds self-confidence through friendly competition. It is just one of the ways the district and community come together to support literacy.

“One of the tenants of Rotary International is literacy,” said Randall Canedy from the Mansfield Sunrise Rotary Club, which sponsors the event. “[The spelling bee] isn’t the only thing we do, but it’s something we really enjoy and one of our favorite events of the year.”

Oyerokun already has her eyes set on her next prize. She’ll go on to compete at the Scripps Regional Spelling Bee on March 2 at Texas Christian University.

List of Contestants/Campus Winners

Alice Ponder Elementary
William Curlin
Anna May Daulton Elementary
Morgan Taggart
Annette Perry Elementary
Emma Shatto
Asa Low Intermediate
Dante Perales
Brooks Wester Middle School
Cris Vint
Carol Holt Elementary
Jayden Maple
Charlotte Anderson Elementary
Drew Dazey
Cora Spencer Elementary
Jaden Marshall
Cross Timbers Intermediate
Tiffany Lam
D. P. Morris Elementary
Emma Griffith
Danny Jones Middle School
Elizabeth Mingle
Della Icenhower Intermediate
Mariam Dohadwala
Donna Shepard Intermediate
James Edwardsen
Elizabeth Smith Elementary
Kemi Morohunfola
Erma Nash Elementary
Joseph Oehlke
Glenn Harmon Elementary
Shayla Simms
Imogene Gideon Elementary
Trevin Lawson
J. L. Boren Elementary
Julia Rio
James Coble Middle School
Himadri Nath
Janet Brockett Elementary
Aaron Pradith
Judy Miller Elementary
Kojo Boadu
Kenneth Davis Elementary
Luke Dickey
Linda Jobe Middle School
Ruth Oyerokun (winner)
Louise Cabaniss Elementary
Ayush Shah
Martha Reid Elementary
Angel Brefo
Mary Jo Sheppard Elementary
Marcus Jones
Mary Lillard Intermediate
Nicolas Shea
Mary Orr Intermediate
Tojumi Olayiwole (runner-up)
Nancy Neal Elementary
Cadence Webb
Roberta Tipps Elementary
Ayaan Monga
Rogene Worley Middle School
Kennedy Johnson
T. A. Howard Middle School
Kashif Ghani
Tarver-Rendon Elementary
Joshua Oyerokun
Thelma Jones Elementary
Caitlyn Nguyen
Willie Brown Elementary
Cristian Rodriguez