Google Analytics

Friday, February 12, 2016

Eighth Grader Spells His Way to Victory...Again

Spelling Bee winner Jeremy Phan receives his championship plaque.
It’s a word Jeremy Pham will never forget. After successfully spelling catastrophe, the James Coble Middle School eighth grader was named the 2016 Mansfield ISD spelling bee champion.

Pham, who also won the district spelling bee last year, was the last student standing out of the 35 contestants from each of the district’s elementary, intermediate, and middle schools. He said he is proud to be able to take home another winner’s trophy.

“I’m happy I was able to win because there were many tough competitors,” said Pham. “You have to study every day for a few hours, and it’s best to study with flashcards to go over the words.”

The district spelling bee’s coordinator said the contest is not just about spelling words correctly. The contestants are developing skills that they will use even after graduation.

First runner-up Kailey Choi was a past district
spelling bee winner.
“The Bee fosters public speaking skills, enhances vocabulary and grammar skills, as well as building self-confidence through a friendly competitive environment,” said Krista Cobb, ELA instructional coordinator. “These are life-long skills that students can apply throughout all aspects of their lives.”

The district spelling was held Friday, Feb. 12 at the MISD Center for the Performing Arts. It was sponsored by the Mansfield Sunrise Rotary Club.

Congratulations to Jeremy Pham, first runner-up Kailey Choi from Cross Timbers Intermediate School, and the following campus winners who competed in the district bee.

Alice Ponder Elementary
Michaela Oczak
Anna May Daulton Elementary
Erica Christenson
Annette Perry Elementary
Jordan Bosuro
Asa Low Intermediate
Vivian Cao
Brooks Wester Middle School
Gregory Jason Dey
Carol Holt Elementary
Lauren Eddington-Dixon
Charlotte Anderson Elementary
Ezra Escamilla
Cora Spencer Elementary
Ezenna Akubukwe
Cross Timbers Intermediate
Kailey Choi  (first runner-up)
D. P. Morris Elementary
Jacqueline Hoang
Danny Jones Middle School
Quinten Dukes
Della Icenhower Intermediate
Niladri Nath
Donna Shepard Intermediate
Eric Alan
Elizabeth Smith Elementary
Alvin Rhaman
Erma Nash Elementary
Aiden Bond
Glenn Harmon Elementary
Laila Mohammed
Imogene Gideon Elementary
Synia Roberts
J. L. Boren Elementary
Phillip Besand
James Coble Middle School
Jeremy Pham  (winner)
Janet Brockett Elementary
Aaron Pradith
Judy Miller Elementary
Peyton Mitchell
Kenneth Davis Elementary
Tiffany Lam
Linda Jobe Middle School
Micah Donathan
Louise Cabaniss Elementary
Annabelle Rodriguez
Martha Reid Elementary
Oluwatade Olayiwole
Mary Jo Sheppard Elementary
Jayden Nche
Mary Lillard Intermediate
Michael O. Asokwah, Jr.
Mary Orr Intermediate
Tojumi Olayiwole
Nancy Neal Elementary
Shaun Ukeje
Roberta Tipps Elementary
Oladipo Owoyele
Rogene Worley Middle School
Sandra Khuon
T. A. Howard Middle School
Jonathan Walker
Tarver-Rendon Elementary
Grant Ruhland
Thelma Jones Elementary
Precious Agwagom
Willie Brown Elementary
Prapti Patel